Turk and Cotney Headline USA South All-Conference Awards

USA South 2021 Football Awards Announced

Web Release Link

The USA South Athletic Conference has announced its 2021 All-Conference awards for football. Individually, Huntingdon’s Landon Cotney was named Offensive Player of the Year while his coach, Mike Turk, earned Coach of the Year honors. N.C. Wesleyan’s Trevon Crank collected Offensive Rookie of the Year, Brevard’s Steffon Canady was named Defensive Player of the Year, LaGrange’s Cameron Grady grabbed Defensive Rookie of the Year, and Methodist’s Kobe Praylow earned Special Teams Player of the Year to round out the individual accolades. Additionally, the USA South recognized an All-Sportsmanship Team, consisting of one member from each competing school who their coach felt displayed the best sportsmanship this season.

All honors are determined by votes from the football coach at each institution.

Cotney, a junior quarterback from Alexander City, Alabama becomes the second consecutive Hawk to be named USA South football offensive player of the year. Cotney leads the Conference with a 147.9 passer efficiency thanks to completing 60.5% of his passes for 1,757 yards, which is good for a League-leading 9.0 yards-per-attempt average. He has also accumulated 13 passing touchdowns this fall. On the ground, Cotney leads the USA South with 888 yards and 18 touchdowns which has helped him total a Conference-best 108 points scored. In Conference games-only, Cotney led the League in passing efficiency (166.0), completion percentage (64.7%), rushing yards (688), rushing touchdowns (17), and points scored (102). For his efforts this season, Coney earns All-Conference honors for the second consecutive season as a quarterback. Finally, he was named USA South Offensive Player of the Week three times this fall.

Crank, a freshman running back from Gastonia, North Carolina becomes the fifth Battling Bishop to earn USA South football offensive rookie of the year and the first since the 2010 season. He led all Conference rookies in rushing yards-per-game (81.6), yards-per-carry (5.9), and touchdowns (5). In USA South contests, Crank was tied for second in the League averaging 5.9 yards-per-carry and fourth in total yards with 571. For his efforts this fall, Crank is named to the All-Conference Second Team as a running back while collecting USA South Offensive Rookie of the Week honors twice.

Canady, a Glendale, Arizona senior linebacker becomes the first Tornado to earn USA South football defensive player of the year honors in the program’s short time in the Conference. He tied for the Conference lead in sacks with 10.5 and was second with 18.5 tackles for a total loss of 95 yards. He totaled 66 tackles, broke-up three passes, recovered two fumbles while causing a co-League-high four fumbles this season. Against USA South opposition, Canady finished the year with a League-best 17.5 tackles for a loss and four forced fumbles. Canady’s behind the line of scrimmage disruptions caused 93 total lost yardage and included 10.5 sacks of opposing quarterbacks. For his efforts, Canady was named an All-Conference linebacker for the third consecutive year. Finally, he collected USA South Defensive Player of the Week accolades twice this fall.

Grady, a freshman defensive back from Birmingham, Alabama becomes the second consecutive Panther to earn USA South football defensive rookie of the year honors. He led the Conference with five interceptions, all of which came against USA South opposition, and he returned those for a total of 128 yards. In a win over Southern Virginia, Grady returned a first quarter interception 37 yards for a touchdown. Additionally, Grady collected 31 total tackles and broke-up two passes this season. For his efforts this fall, Grady is named to the All-Conference Second Team as a cornerback and collected USA South Defensive Rookie of the Week honors once.

Praylow, a junior returner from Pamplico, South Carolina becomes the first honoree of the League’s football special teams player of the year award. He led the Conference with a 13.5 yard-per-punt return average while his 23 kickoff returns resulted in 538 yards and one 90-yard touchdown. He was one of just three players to return a kickoff for a score this fall with his 90-yard jaunt being the longest. Additionally, Praylow led the Conference in all-purpose yards-per-game with 167.6 as he was playing receiver for the Monarchs when not returning kicks. For his efforts this season, Praylow is named to the All-Conference First Team as a return specialist for the third consecutive season to go along with a second team nod as a wide receiver. Finally, he collected USA South Special Teams Player of the Week honors once this fall.

Turk, in his 17th season at Huntingdon, earns his fifth USA South coach of the year honor in six seasons, not counting last year’s COVID-altered campaign where no individual accolades were awarded. Thanks to an unblemished, 8-0, mark in Conference play, Turk has led the Hawks to the team’s fifth USA South championship, again, not counting last year’s COVID-altered campaign. The eight wins in League play are the most by a team in USA South football history. Huntingdon will now head to the NCAA Tournament for the sixth time in program history as they concluded the regular season with an 8-2 record, winners of eight consecutive games.


Player of the Year

Rookie of the Year

Player of the Year

Rookie of the Year

Special Teams
Player of the Year

Coach of the Year

Landon Cotney

Trevon Crank
N.C. Wesleyan

Steffon Canady

Cameron Grady

Kobe Praylow

Mike Turk

The 2021 USA South Football All-Conference Team:

First Team

Second Team

Running Back

Kahari McReynolds, Huntingdon
Keyshaun Pete, Methodist

Trevon Crank, N.C. Wesleyan
Mitchell Yoder, Brevard


Landon Cotney, Huntingdon

Brandon Bullins, Methodist

Wide Receiver

Malachi Harvey, Huntingdon
Xzavier McNeil, Methodist
Jarrod Mosby, Averett

Isaiah Grice, Averett
Chase Nixon, Averett
Kobe Praylow, Methodist

Tight End/H-Back/Fullback

De’queze Fryer, LaGrange

Zack Self, Huntingdon

Offensive Line

Johnny Alston, Averett
Darrell Hixon, Huntingdon
Colin Langford, Huntingdon
Brandon Unangst, Brevard
Nick Wiggins, Methodist

Jace Brittain, Maryville
Elijah Broach, N.C. Wesleyan
Jac Coleman, Methodist
Chris Hatch, N.C. Wesleyan
Clay Sipprell, Huntingdon

Defensive Line

Jerome Bass, Brevard
Tristin Quick, Averett
Johnathan Terrell, Averett
Joe Thomas, LaGrange

Rob Carley, N.C. Wesleyan
JaVon Lofton, Averett
Khalil Patterson, Methodist
Kymani VaiVai, Southern Virginia


Steffon Canady, Brevard
Casey Peppers, Huntingdon
Conner Showalter, Averett

Nicholas Mintz, Averett
Toby Naylor, Brevard
Jason Siaosi, Southern Virginia


Terrell England, Averett
Fred Flavors, Huntingdon

Cameron Grady, LaGrange
DeIrvin Grate, Methodist


Dante Anderson, Brevard
Nate Jones, Methodist

Miller Park, Huntingdon
Lexie Shaw, Huntingdon

Return Specialist

Kobe Praylow, Methodist

Brandon Norris, Brevard

Place Kicker

Stamati Damalos, Brevard

Will Edwards, Huntingdon


Bobby Haggerty, Methodist

Zach Allman, Greensboro


All-Sportsmanship Team
Wesley Parker, Averett
Luis Alvarez, Brevard
Jacob Doolittle, Greensboro
Miller Park, Huntingdon
Len Spivey, LaGrange
Jacob Cortez, Maryville
Matt Heflin, Methodist
Rob Carley, N.C. Wesleyan
David Tagalei, Southern Virginia



Football, Huntingdon College