Kimeli, Atkins earn yearly cross country honors

AUBURN, Ala. – Following successful performances at last week’s Southeastern Conference Championships, Auburn senior Joyce Kimeli and freshman Cooper Atkins were named to the All-SEC First Team and the SEC All-Freshman Team, respectively.
Kimeli claimed the silver medal in the women’s 6k race, finishing second in a field of 139 runners. Her performance was the highest placement the Tigers have seen at the meet since Holly Knight was the runner up in 2010. It was also the best finish for Kimeli of her four career SEC Championships.
The cross country honor is Kimeli’s third of her career, being named to the SEC All-Freshman team in 2017 and the All-SEC First Team in 2019.
In his SEC Championships debut, Atkins claimed 53rd on the individual leaderboard behind a personal-best 8k time, 25:07.30. The Scottsboro, Alabama native was 5th among true freshmen competing at the meet.
All-SEC selections were determined solely by individual placements at the SEC Championships last week. The top seven finishers in each race, men’s 8k and women’s 6k, were named to the first team with the following seven finishers being named to the second team. All-Freshman selections consisted of the top seven true freshman runners in each race.
Men’s First Team All-SEC
Eliud Kipsang, Alabama
Amon Kemboi, Arkansas
Mario Garcia Romo, Ole Miss
Victor Kiprop, Alabama
Jacob McLeod, Arkansas
Sam Bowers, Georgia
Cole Bullock, Ole Miss
Men’s Second Team All-SEC
Michael Coccia, Ole Miss
Marquette Wilhite, Missouri
Myles Richter, Arkansas
Andrew Kibet, Arkansas          
Emmanuel Cheboson, Arkansas     
William Sinclair, Missouri  
Karl Thiessen, Tennessee
Men’s Freshman All-SEC
Victor Kiprop, Alabama
Hillary Cheruiyot, Alabama
Joe Wester, Florida
Michael Fiore, Florida
Cooper Atkins, Auburn
Gavin Saacke, Alabama
Carson Burian, Alabama
Women’s First Team All-SEC
Mercy Chelangat, Alabama
Joyce Kimeli, Auburn
Krissy Gear, Arkansas
Parker Valby, Florida
Tori Herman, Kentucky
Sintayehu Vissa, Ole Miss
Flomena Asekol, Alabama
Women’s Second Team All-SEC
Amaris Tyynismaa, Alabama
Sydney Seymour, Tennessee            
Isabel Van Camp, Arkansas
Esther Gitahi, Alabama              
Lauren Gregory, Arkansas              
Perri Bockrath, Kentucky
Ryann Helmers, Ole Miss
Women’s Freshman All-SEC
Parker Valby, Florida
Carmie Prinsloo, Arkansas
Gemma Goddard, Texas A&M
Rachel Sutliff, Tennessee
Cameron Fawcett, Vanderbilt
Stephanie Ormsby, Florida
Allison Newman, Missouri

Print Friendly Version
Auburn University, College Track and Field, Cross Country, Sports Tags: