Barnes one of 176 semifinalists for the 2021 William V. Campbell Trophy®


IRVING, Texas | The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) announced the 176 semifinalists for the 2021 William V. Campbell Trophy®, college football’s premier scholar-athlete award.

Alabama State senior long snapper Luke Barnes (Tempe, Ariz.) is part of that list, becoming the second consecutive Hornet announced as a semifinalist after Ezra Gray (Lynn Haven, Fla.) became a finalist for the award last season. He is part of a list that boasts an impressive 3.66 average GPA, with more than two-thirds of the semifinalists having already earned their bachelor’s degree.

Barnes earned his bachelor’s degree from Alabama State in Interdisciplinary Studies with a minor in Criminal Justice/Political Science with a 4.0 grade point average, and graduated Summa Cum Laude. He is currently working towards his Master of Accountancy at Alabama State where he is an eight-time member of the Dean’s List, while also being a recipient of the President’s Award.

He is in his third season at Alabama State playing under Donald Hill-Eley and has zero errors on punt and field goal/point after attempt (PAT) snaps. Barnes is a two-time all-conference selection, two-time All-American, and has been named Special Teams Player of the Week. He has also recorded three tackles on punts.

Off the field, Barnes is a member of the Leadership Council and is on the committee for the Blockchain Think Tank Group (2021). He also serves at local churches, volunteers at youth group events, and is a volunteer coach with middle school and high school student-athletes.

Barnes was married in May 2020 to Hannah Barnes.

The NFF will announce 12-14 finalists on October 27, and each of them will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a member of the 2021 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class Presented by Fidelity Investments. The finalists will travel to the ARIA Resort & Casino Las Vegas for the 63rd NFF Annual Awards Dinner Presented by Las Vegas on December 7, where their accomplishments will be highlighted in front of one of the most powerful audiences in all of sports.

Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, candidates must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of playing eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player of significant contributor and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers, and athletic administrators.

Founded in 1947 with early leadership from General Douglas MacArthur, legendary Army coach Earl “Red” Blaik and immortal journalist Grantland Rice, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame is a non-profit educational organization that runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship, and athletic achievement in young people. With 120 chapters and 12,000 members nationwide, NFF programs include the Chick-fil-A College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, Future for Football, The William V. Campbell Trophy® Presented by Mazda, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class Presented by Fidelity Investments and a series of initiatives to honor the legends of the past and inspire the leaders of the future. NFF corporate partners include Delta Air Lines, Fidelity Investments, Goodyear, Mazda, the New York Athletic Club, the Pasadena Tournament of Roses, and the Sports Business Journal. Follow us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter @NFFNetwork and learn more at

For complete coverage of Alabama State University football, follow the Hornets on social media @BamaStateFB (Twitter), /BamaStateSports (Facebook), @BamaStateSports (Instagram) or visit the official home of Alabama State athletics at


Print Friendly Version
College Football, College Sports, Sports Tags: