Reese Selected to HBCU All-Star Game

ATLANTA, Ga. – Stillman College freshman outfielder Kelvin Reese has been selected to play in the inaugural HBCU All-Star Baseball Game, presented by Minority Baseball Prospects. 


The HBCU All-Star event will begin with a combine from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. on Monday, June 7, followed by a Home Run Derby at 7 p.m. The 2021 HBCU All-Star Game will be played June 8 at 6:30 p.m. at Hoover Met Stadium in Hoover, Alabama. 


Reese, a native of Montgomery, Alabama, hit .278 for the Tigers in 26 games with 20 total hits, which was third among Stillman players. He had eight doubles and 11 RBI. Reese hit his first collegiate home run at MUW on April 6. 


Defensively, Reese recorded a .980 fielding percentage, recording one error in 51 chances. He was perfect on 34 chances in the outfield in 16 games against Southern States Athletic Conference teams in the regular season and SSAC Tournament.  


Reese is one of 50 players selected to the HBCU All-Star Game, including 10 from Alabama HBCUs. He is the only outfielder among eight selections from NAIA HBCU programs. 


There are six players who played high school baseball in Alabama. Reese, who played at Success Unlimited Academy in Montgomery, is joined by Miles College pitcher Zavian Caldwell (Lincoln, Ala. / Lincoln HS), Lane College infielder Zach Elias (Phenix City, Ala. / Central Phenix City HS), Tuskegee University outfielder Joshua Lewis (Huntsville, Ala. / Sparkman HS), Albany State University outfielder Terence (T.J.) Thomas II (Prattville, Ala. / Prattville HS) and Alabama State outfielder Jabronski Williams (Troy, Ala. / Charles Henderson HS).


HBCU All-Star Game Roster (by team)

AJ Gardner, Alabama State, OF

Trenton Jamison, Alabama State, CIF

Jabronski Williams, Alabama State, OF

Terence Thomas II, Albany State, OF

Jose Fernandez, Alcorn, LHP

Tristin Garcia, Alcorn, MIF

Kacy Higgins Jr, Arkansas Pine Bluff, OF

Tony Horn, Arkansas Pine Bluff, RHP

Anthony Johnson, Benedict, CIF

Zyon Avery, Bethune Cookman, CIF

Charles Jackson, Claflin, RHP

Lorenzo Peterson, Clark Atlanta, RHP

Lawrence Bryant, FAMU, OF

Kelyn Fox, FAMU, LHP

Jason Alvarez, Grambling, RHP

Cameron Bufford, Grambling, MIF

Jahmoi Percival, Grambling, OF

Cameron Phelts, Grambling, OF

Chenar Brown, Jackson State, CIF

Chandler Dillard, Jackson State, OF

Nikelle Galatas, Jackson State, RHP

Jeremiah Hill, Jackson State, CIF

Zach Elias, Lane, MIF

Chris O’Neal, Lane, MIF

Zavian Caldwell, Miles, RHP

Derrick Odom, Morehouse, OF

James Deloatch, Norfolk State, LHP

Alsander Womack, Norfolk State, MIF

Xavier Meachem, NC A&T, RHP

Gianni Smith, NC A&T, RHP

Brayden Johnson, Prairie View A&M, OF

Victor Mendoza Prairie View A&M, RHP

Sieas Elliot, Rust, C

DJ Franklin, Savannah State, OF

Enrico Peele, Savannah State, RHP

Jerome Bohannon, Southern, LHP

Taj Porter, Southern, C

Tremaine Spears, Southern, OF

Oracio De Leon, Talladega, RHP

Jeffry Roldan, Talladega, MIF

Kamron Fields, Texas Southern, RHP

Oscar Ponce, Texas Southern, CIF

D’Anthony Morrow, Tougaloo, MIF

Jalan Daniels, Tuskegee, RHP

Joshua Lewis, Tuskegee, OF

Ronald McGhee, Tuskegee, C

Blair Frederick, Xavier (La.), LHP

Antonio Rodriguez, Xavier (La.), MIF

Tristan Rodriguez, Xavier (La.), C


Baseball, Stillman College