2020-21 Huntingdon Athletic Awards

MONTGOMERY, Ala. – The Huntingdon College athletic department announced its annual Athletic Award winners on Tuesday to recognize the accomplishments of its student-athletes.

This year’s winners and finalists are:

Male Student-Athlete of the Year: Hunter Hall, Men’s Soccer

Finalists: Casey Peppers (Football), Jack Haury (Wrestling)


Female Student-Athlete of the Year: Amy Tyma, Volleyball

Finalists: Kirstin Hayes (Soccer), Lucy Burch (Tennis)


Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Mike Jones, Lacrosse

Finalists: Joseph Pearson (Wrestling), Hunter Hall (Soccer)


Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Alexis Louk, Soccer

Finalists: Ashley Burke (Tennis), Savannah Ryan (Lacrosse/Cross Country)

Male Newcomer of the Year: Colin Whibbs, Baseball

Finalists: Peter Meilunas (Golf), Kahari McReynolds (Football)


Female Newcomer of the Year: Brooke Stefankiewicz, Softball

Finalists: Jordan Hollis (Volleyball), Peyton Beachler (Lacrosse), Emma Bauer (Softball)


Megan Cook Sportsmanship Award: Lucy Burch, Tennis

Finalists: Alina Shoemake (Basketball), Jasmine Paynter (Golf)


John McWilliams Sportsmanship Award: Dylan Bohling, Basketball

Finalists: Stephen Dan (Lacrosse), Kelvin Bowser (Football)

SAAC Outstanding Female Senior Award: Indya Lawrence, Basketball

SAAC Outstanding Male Senior Award: Mike Jones, Lacrosse

Female Sport Coach of the Year Award: Latonia Brady, Volleyball

Finalists: Casey Chrietzberg (Softball), Ximena Moore (Tennis)

Charlie Lane Coach of the Year Award: Charlie Goodyear, Strength and Conditioning

Finalists: Matt Cooper (Soccer), Dave Schreyer (Golf), Mike Turk (Football)

Male Single-Game Performance of the Year: (Cross Country) Mac Brooks turned in a record-setting time for the Hawks in his first collegiate event. His time of 16:43.4 in the 5K Martin Methodist Red Hawk Season Opener was the best in the history of the Huntingdon cross country program, breaking the previous record of 16:45.49 set in 2009.

Finalists: Hunter Hall (Soccer), Casey Peppers (Football)


Female Single-Game Performance of the Year: (Golf) Debra Ann Burdeshaw shot a 1-over-par 73 and was tied for second in Round 1 of the inaugural USA South Athletic Conference Women’s Golf Championship.

Finalists: Shelby Martin (Lacrosse), Emma Bauer (Softball)


Male Sport Play of the Year: (Golf) John Gaal had a hole-in-one at the famous 15th hole at Mission Inn. An island green, Gaal holed his shot, energizing his team to a late rally to finish second in the Golfweek Invitational.

Finalists: Landon Cotney (Football), James Little (Basketball)


Female Sport Play of the Year: (Soccer) Alexis Louk (from 35 yards out) sent a ball over the Covenant defensive backline to the feet of Kirstin Hayes, which allowed Hayes to score with a minute left in double overtime. The win was Huntingdon’s first in the history of the 15-game series with Covenant and was the fifth conference win of the season, marking the most conference wins in a season for the Hawks since joining the USA South.

Finalists: Abigail Cody (Golf), Amy Tyma/Morgan Ilsley (Volleyball)


Male Sport Win of the Year: The football team’s 31-20 win over Methodist to win the USA South championship. The win was the Hawks’ second straight conference title and the fifth conference title in the past six seasons.

Finalists: Men’s Soccer beats Maryville  


Female Sport Win of the Year: The women’s tennis team’s 6-3 win over Covenant College in the last match of the regular season. The win clinched a berth in the USA South Tournament.

Finalists: Volleyball beats Covenant, Volleyball beats LaGrange


Football, Huntingdon College